WVU researcher to lead scientific group

Microcirculatory Society names Boegehold president-elect

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Matthew A. Boegehold, Ph.D., director of the Center for Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences at West Virginia University, has been named president-elect of the Microcirculatory Society (MCS).

Dr. Boegehold has long been a leading investigator into the problems of the smaller blood vessels, including the effects of dietary salt on blood pressure and vascular function. Boegehold is a professor in the Department of Physiology and Pharmacology in the WVU School of Medicine.

He will serve one year as president-elect beginning this month at the annual meeting of MCS, a 600-member group that includes researchers from 18 countries. In 2011, he will serve a one-year term as president. Boegehold has served on the organization’s executive council and the editorial board of the journal “Microcirculation.”  He has also been the chair of the publications committee.

The current president of the MCS, Dr. William F. Jackson of Michigan State University, congratulated Boegehold on his election.  “I am delighted that Dr. Boegehold has been selected as president-elect.  I have known Matt since he was a graduate student in Paul Johnson’s lab at the University of Arizona.  Matt has excellent leadership skills, and I am certain that he will effectively guide the society during his tenure as president.”

For more information, see WVU Center for Cardiovascular and Respiratory Sciences http://www.hsc.wvu.edu/ccrs/index.asp

For more information, see The Microcirculatory Society http://microcirc.org/.


For more information:
Kim Fetty, HSC News Service, 304-293-7087
bc: 02-23-10

Return To News Releases