WVU Health Sciences students earn awards

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Four West Virginia University Health Sciences students have been recognized for various awards and prizes acknowledging their accomplishments in research and community service.

Heaven Oliver-Kozup, a second-year Ph.D. student at the WVU Immunology and Microbial Pathogenesis Program, will be participating in the WV EPSCoR STEM Cancer Nanotechnology Fellowship. The fellowship is a collaborative research opportunity for graduate training leading to a Ph.D. Oliver-Kozup will receive a one-year stipend with potential renewal. “I’m very honored to have been accepted in the fellowship and am looking forward to developing and using nano-based techniques in my research now and in the future,” Oliver-Kozup said.

WVU School of Nursing graduate Lya Stroupe received the Outstanding Student Community Service Project award during the 2009 Annual Awards and Recognition Dinner at Embassy suites in Charleston March 2. “No more than two awards are given annually to recognize a community based student research, or service learning projects, that have targeted an aspect of need in community health and effectively addressed the health issue,” Susan Pinto, a lecturer in the School of Nursing, said.

Two WVU School of Medicine otolaryngology residents participated in the annual Schein Research Forum at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center April 4. Adam Cassis, M.D., received first prize for his presentation "Attenuating the effects of gentamicin induced ototoxicity with antioxidants.” Jamey Cost, M.D., also presented her project “Myosin la and its role in deafness” at the forum. “Dr. Ramadan and I felt that our two residents were the two best on the whole program,” Stephen J. Wetmore, M.D., of WVU School of Medicine said. “I would like to thank both Adam and Jamey for excellent presentations.”

Ekta Choudhary was the student award winner for the Society for Epidemiologic Research 2008 Poster Session. The topic of Choudhary’s poster was “Epidemiological Profile of Male Sexual Assault: Results from the National Incident Based Reporting System.” Winners received gift certificates to Oxford University Press. “Our students continue to be extraordinarily productive in research, the ICRC has been a great home for student achievement, and Ekta Choudhary continues to receive recognition for her work,” Alan Ducatmen, M.D., professor and chair at WVU Department of Community Medicine, said.



For more information:
Amy Johns, HSC News Service, 304-293-7087
EL: 04-08-09

Return To News Releases