Honors and awards to WVU Health Sciences faculty

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – A West Virginia University research team led by Jame Abraham, M.D., produced one of the 2008 Top 10 most popular articles published in the journal Oncology and viewed on the website www.cancernetwork.com. Abraham is medical director for the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center at WVU and director of the Comprehensive Breast Cancer Program. The manuscript "Role of Tumor Markers and Circulating Tumor Cells in the Management of Breast Cancer" was published in the June edition. The research team discovered that a test for levels of circulating tumor cells, or CTC, signals whether a tumor is aggressive, which is potentially significant in the treatment of breast cancer. For the full study see http://www.cancernetwork.com/display/article/10165/1164044.

Joy Buck, Ph.D., an associate professor in the WVU School of Nursing, contributed chapters to two books that received recognition from a panel of judges convened by the American Journal of Nursing, which selects the most valuable texts of the year. “Reflective Decision Making for Nurses: Thoughtful Approaches” received an award in the leadership and management category.  “Capturing Nursing History: A Guide to Historical Methods in Research” received an award in the health policy category. Buck’s studies include looking at the way religion and spiritual belief shape decision-making by nurses as well as patients and their families. She also details how the history of the American hospice movement provides a framework for analyzing the impact of policy changes.

Two Health Sciences faculty members – Ruth Kershner, Ed.D., associate professor in the Community Medicine Department, and Mary J. Wimmer, Ph.D., biochemistry professor in the  School of Medicine – are finalists for 2008 Professor of the Year. The award comes from the Faculty Merit Foundation of West Virginia. Finalists will attend a reception at the Governor’s Mansion March 17 followed by a dinner at the Cultural Center in Charleston, where the winner will be announced. The award carries a cash prize of $10,000 sponsored by United Bank. The foundation, created in 1984, recognizes and rewards innovation and creativity in the faculties of West Virginia’s public and private colleges and universities. The three other finalists represent Bethany College, West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine and West Virginia Wesleyan College.



For more information:
Andrea Brunais, HSC News Service, 304-293-7087
ab: 1-20-09

Return To News Releases