WVU Health Sciences faculty members earn kudos

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – Several faculty and staff members at the Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center recently have received writing, teaching and scholarship awards.

The American College of Physicians (ACP) named Shelley Nuss, M.D., Laureate of the West Virginia Chapter of the ACP.  Nuss, who is vice president for medical staff affairs at WVU Hospitals and interim associate dean for hospital services for the WVU School of Medicine, was recognized for her commitment to excellence in medical care, education and research as well as her community service.
The Laureate award recognized Dr. Nuss for being a mentor of medical students and residents and a prolific author of presentations delivered at national meetings. She also has coordinated the Medical Jeopardy Competition for more than 10 years for the state ACP chapter.  In June she received the Outstanding Teacher Award at the annual Department of Medicine Award Ceremony. 


The Health Education and Behavior Editorial Board at the University of Michigan has chosen a team of scientists from the WVU Department of Community Medicine as a runner up for the Lawrence W. Green Paper of the Year Award. The team’s research paper is titled Applying Community-Based Participation Research Principles to the Development of a Smoking Cessation Program for American Indian Teens: “Telling Our Story.” The WVU coauthors are Kimberly Horn, Ed.D., Geri Dino, Ph.D., and Lyn McCracken. Horn and Dino are faculty members in the Department of Community Medicine and are the developers of Not On Tobacco (N-O-T), a school-based program designed for smokers ages 14 to 19 that is the most widely used teen smoking-cessation program in the country.

The award-winning paper reflects the voices of the American Indian community in North Carolina and the desire for young people to recognize smoking and other forms of tobacco addiction as harmful to health. The authors attribute the N-O-T program’s success in the community in part to a respect for the tribal culture during implementation.

This is the latest of many honors for the N-O-T program, including its recent listing on the government’s National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices.


Two other faculty members of the WVU School of Medicine have received the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Awards from their alma maters. George A. Kelley, D.A., director of the meta-analytic research group, received the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award from Boise State University, where he received his B.S. degree in physical education and a minor in health education in 1980.  Jim Helmkamp, Ph.D., director of the WVU Injury Control Research Center, was honored with the 2008 Distinguished Alumni Award from the University of Pittsburgh’s Graduate School of Public Health on the 25th anniversary of his graduation in 1983.




For more information:
Amy Johns, HSC News Service, 304-293-7087
ab: 11-6-08

Return To News Releases