FUTURES Golf Classic and WVGA announce partnership

MORGANTOWN, W. Va. — The Betty Puskar FUTURES Golf Classic and the West Virginia Golf Association (WVGA) have reached an agreement where the winner of the West Virginia Women’s Amateur Championship will be awarded an amateur exemption into the Classic.

The 83rd Annual West Virginia Women’s Amateur Championship will be held July 24-27 at Sleepy Hollow Country Club in Hurricane. Applicants can download an entry form from the WVGA web site, www.wvga.org. The deadline to apply is July 14.

The winner will go on to play in the Betty Puskar FUTURES Classic Aug. 11-13 at the Pines Country Club in Morgantown. 

“This is similar to the winner of the men’s West Virginia Open earning an exemption into the Pete Dye Classic,” Kevin Miller, tournament director of the FUTURES Classic said. “Players competing for the amateur title will know that they are not only crowned the best women’s amateur in the state, but they will have the opportunity to compete in the only professional women’s tournament in the state.”

The Betty Puskar Breast Care Center at West Virginia University will celebrate its 15-year history with the FUTURES Tour this year. Since its affiliation with the professional tour, the Breast Care Center has elevated the level of statewide awareness about breast cancer and generated nearly half-a-million dollars in revenue for the facility.

Various events and activities are scheduled the week leading up to the FUTURES tournament including the Betty Puskar Fashion Show presented by George Simms Interiors. There will be two BB&T Pro-Ams, a Junior Pro-Am and a Tee-Time for Survivors walk at the Pines Country Club, prior to tee-off on Friday, Aug. 11.

The Duramed FUTURES Tour is the Official Developmental Tour of the LPGA and is now referred to as “The Road to the LPGA.” Many past participants of the Morgantown classic have gone on to play on the LPGA Tour. Past champions currently enjoying success on the LPGA tour include: Sun Young Yoo (2005), Jimin Kang (2004), Reilley Rankin (2003), Lorena Ochoa (2002), Grace Park (1999), A.J. Eathorne (1998) and Becky Iverson (1997).

For more information on the Classic, contact the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center Development Office at 304-293-3711 or visit the web site at www.morgantownfutures.com.

- WVU -

For more information:
Sherry Stoneking, Cancer Center (304) 293-4599

Return To News Releases