WVU School of Medicine Announces Dean’s Award Recipients

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University School of Medicine Dean John E. Prescott, M.D., presented nine Awards for Excellence April 24 at the WVU Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center in Morgantown.

Awards went to faculty who excelled in the areas of education, clinical service, research, service to the community and service to the school. This year, an additional award was created –the Distinguished Teacher Award.

“All of the award winners make outstanding contributions to our work, each in his or her own way,” Prescott said. “These individuals are truly dedicated to serving our students, our school, and our profession.”

The 2006 winners are:

Award for Excellence in Education

Frank Reilly, Ph.D., professor, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy


Award for Distinguished Teacher

Stanley Zaslau, associate professor, Section of Urology, Department of Surgery


Award for Excellence in Research

Nyles W. Charon, Ph.D., professor, Department of Microbiology, Immunology & Cell Biology


Award for Excellence in Community Service

David M. Deci, M.D., assistant professor, Department of Family Medicine


Award for Excellence in Clinical Service

Harakh V. Dedhia, M.D., professor, Department of Medicine

Debra J. Paulson, M.D., associate professor, Department of Emergency Medicine


Award for Excellence in Service to the School

Roger C. Toffle, M.D., professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

MaryBeth Mandich, P.T., Ph.D., associate dean of professional programs and chair of physical therapy, Division of Physical Therapy


Award for Dedication to the Profession of Medicine

Richard K. Dattola, M.D., associate professor, Department of Family Medicine

- WVU -

For more information:
Bill Case, HSC News Service, (304) 293-7087

Return To News Releases