Breast Care Center to Raffle $15,000

Celebrates 15-Year History with the FUTURES

MORGANTOWN, W.Va.— The Betty Puskar Breast Care Center at West Virginia University will celebrate its 15-year history with the FUTURES Tour with a $15,000 cash raffle. Ticket sales from the raffle will benefit the Breast Care Center. 

The 2006 Duramed FUTURES Tour comes to Morgantown the week of Aug. 7, bringing with it dozens of the world’s best female golfers. Since its affiliation with the professional tour, the Breast Care Center has elevated the level of statewide awareness about breast cancer and generated nearly half-a-million dollars in revenue for the facility.

“During last year’s Betty Puskar FUTURES Golf Classic, we raffled off a car, but this year we wanted to try something different,” says Kevin Miller, tournament director.  “Giving away $15,000 to mark the Center’s 15-year affiliation just seemed like the logical way to go.”

A total of 1,500 tickets will be sold at $25 apiece. They are available for purchase by calling the Mary Babb Randolph Cancer Center at (304) 293-3711 and through the tournament Web site (www.morgantownfutures.com).  The drawing for the winning ticket will be announced Aug.13 upon completion of the final round of The Betty Puskar FUTURES Golf Classic held at the Pines Country Club in Morgantown.

Various events and activities are scheduled the entire week leading up to the weekend tournament including The Betty Puskar Fashion Show presented by George Simms Interiors. There will also be two BB&T Pro-Ams, a Junior Pro-Am and a Tee-Time for Survivors walk at the Pines Country Club, prior to tee-off on Friday morning. 

The Betty Puskar FUTURES Golf Classic is the only professional women’s golf tournament in West Virginia. The Duramed FUTURES Tour is the Official Developmental Tour of the LPGA and is now referred to as “The Road to the LPGA,” as many past participants of the Morgantown classic have gone on to play on the LPGA Tour. Past champions who are currently enjoying success on the LPGA include: Sun Young Yoo (2005), Jimin Kang (2004), Reilley Rankin (2003), Lorena Ochoa (2002), Grace Park (1999), A.J. Eathorne (1998), and Becky Iverson (1997).

- WVU -

For more information:
Sherry Stoneking, Cancer Center (304) 293-4599

Return To News Releases