WVU School of Medicine Announces

Dean’s Award Recipients

MORGANTOWN, W.Va. – West Virginia University School of Medicine Dean John E. Prescott, M.D., presented twelve Awards for Excellence April 25 at the WVU Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center in Morgantown.

Awards went to faculty and groups that excelled in the areas of education, clinical service, research, service to the community and service to the school. This year, an additional award was created – the Dean’s Award for Dedication to the Profession of Medicine to be given by the dean when a faculty member has made an outstanding contribution to the profession as a whole.

“All of the award winners make outstanding contributions to our work, each in his or her own way,” Prescott said. “The variety of work done at the school of medicine is stunning – and even though I have been here a long time, it was not until I became dean, and began to interact with the chairs and the faculty in a new way, that the full scope of this school’s abilities, interests and expertise was truly apparent.”

The 2005 winners are:

Award for Excellence in Education

Rosemarie Cannarella, M.D., associate professor of family medicine and assistant dean of student services, Department of Family Medicine, Eastern Division.

Michelle Nuss, M.D., associate professor of general internal medicine and geriatrics, Department of Medicine; and Dorian Williams, M.D., associate professor and predoctoral director, Department of Family Medicine.

Award for Excellence in Research

Geri A. Dino, Ph.D., director of the Prevention Research Center, Department of Community Medicine; and Kimberly A. Horn, Ed.D., assistant professor, Department of Community Medicine.

Mitchell Finkel, M.D., professor of cardiology, Department of Medicine.

Bernard Schreurs, associate professor and graduate program director, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology.

Award for Excellence in Community Service

The Steering Committee of the West Virginia Idea Network of Biomedical Research Excellence, WV-INBRE.

Rebecca Schmidt, associate professor of nephrology, Department of Medicine.

Award for Excellence in Clinical Service

The WVU stroke team – faculty physicians from the departments of Neurology, Emergency Medicine, Radiology and several others, along with the hospital administration and staff, and practitioners in community hospitals, EMTs, and others.

The neonatal team – faculty and staff of the Department of Pediatrics.

Award for Excellence in Service to the School

Charles Moore, M.D., adjunct assistant professor, Department of Ophthalmology.

Douglas Glover, M.D., professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Award for Dedication to the Profession of Medicine

The late Ronald Albuquerque, M.D., assistant professor of trauma/critical care, Department of Surgery.

- WVU -

For more information:
Bill Case, HSC News Service, (304) 293-7087

Return To News Releases